Activist / Youth Activist of the Year

For the first time in our history, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is proud and honored to nationally recognize two activists for their work, commitment and courageous efforts in bringing about political and/or social change within our communities.

Selected from our membership, these social justice warriors were nominated by their NAACP branch for consideration.

The recipients of these awards continuously champion the call to serve as the principal organizers of campaigns or events that bring about social and/or racial justice. Not only have they clearly demonstrated an unwavering commitment to racial, gender, and religious equity, but they are dedicated to advancing the NAACP’s mission, goals and objectives. They fearlessly work to improve their community by educating the masses. They are dedicated to identifying problems, and then they lead the revolution to fix it.

In the fall of 2011, the NAACP launched a process to develop its strategic direction and plan, creating a powerful vision for the future and setting organizational goals that would focus its work for the 21st century. The awardees have aligned their actions with the vision and are effectively engaged in tackling the six game changers addressing the major areas of inequality facing African Americans: Economic Sustainability; Education; Health; Public Safety and Criminal Justice; Voting Rights/Political Representation; Expanding Youth and Young Adult Engagement.

No matter how small or grand the revolution, the values and commitment of these stalwart leaders are essential to elevating legacy and prominence of the mission of the NAACP, and they deserve to be acknowledged and celebrated.

Special Awards

John Lewis

Chariman’s Award RECIPIENT





General Charles E. McGee